Many people erroneously believe that they cannot file a
personal injury claim after a
hit and run accident due to the fact that the other driver is nowhere to be found. This is
not true! In many cases, you may be able to seek compensation by filing
a claim with your own insurance provider under your policy’s uninsured
motorist coverage. This coverage is a standard portion of most insurance
policies, though some do not include it. Under Texas law, however, all
insurance providers must provide their policy holders with the option
of purchasing this coverage. If a policy holder declines this coverage,
their refusal must be given in writing.
Filing a claim for a hit and run is much like any other injury claim, involving
the calculation of your lost wages, quantifying your level of pain and
suffering, providing copies of your medical bills, and sending a demand
letter to your insurance. Your maximum level of compensation from your
insurance will depend on the specific terms of your policy, though the
minimum uninsured/underinsured coverage in Texas is $30,000/$60,000/$30,000.
Actually collecting this compensation can be difficult, however, as insurance
companies will explore every opportunity to pay you as little as possible
to protect their bottom line. This is where retaining the services of
an attorney becomes important. A knowledgeable legal professional can
advocate on your behalf and help you secure the maximum amount of your
Hire a Trial-Tested Odessa Car Accident Lawyer
If a hit and run collision has left you injured, a high-caliber Midland
personal injury lawyer from Dean Law Firm can negotiate with your insurance
company on your behalf and help you pursue the compensation you deserve.
With 20+ years of dedicated legal experience, our firm can help you maximize
your chances of recovering a fair settlement for your suffering.
To find out more about what our team of
Super Lawyers® can do for you,
request a free case evaluation or call our office today at (432) 214-8125!